Broken Disco In a Tiny White Box: Holiday listening.

I’ve buggered off to somewhere that
isn’t horrible for a couple of weeks, partly in the vague hope that when I get home all the things I left behind will have dissolved into nothingness, or at the very least the people I work for will. Mostly, though, these days it seems that I usually go on holiday to give me a reason for changing the stuff that is on my Ipod.

I don’t seem to have quite the patience for podcasts and mixes that I used to. I went through a stage a couple of years back of downloading every conceivable podcast and mix I could find and the only thing I really got out of it was the feeling that there are a lot of people who are calling themselves DJs who just shouldn’t be. This is a situation that has been exacerbated by the strangeness of an era where so many producers feel they need to put out DJ mixes in order for people to pay attention to them, regardless of whether they have any ability as DJs what so ever. Like a football player becoming a manager, the former occupation is no guarantee of success in the latter. There are, of course, a lot of great mixes out there still. In fact there are some brilliant mixes kicking around right now, but it’s getting harder and harder to locate them under the mass of crap.

Anyway, rather than rant about it, I’ve chosen a bunch of mixes to take with me on my hols. I’m actually in the process of deleting all other house and techno off the little white box while I’m away. It’s all rinsed out, to be honest, even the Jeff Mills one that has seen me through more questionable times than a Gideon’s bible and a bottle of whisky. Live At The Liquid Rooms is to be rested after all these years. It may not be ready to see out it’s days in the Sheltered Housing For overplayed bangers, but it certainly deserves a couple of years pottering around in a techno allotment growing funk tomatoes and smoking its pipe in the drizzle. The rest of the Ipod will be full of the usual suspects: a bit of jazz, a bunch of Kermode and Mayo’s movie show podcasts, some Motown and northern soul, a Tom Waits album or two and a bit of classical music. I won’t bore you with the details, suffice to say a drop of Prokofiev is handy on a surprisingly regular basis.

First up is DJ Persuasion’s hardcore and jungle mix for Berceuse Heroique. This should be just the job for dealing with delayed flights, lost luggage or surprise train strikes. Not only does it drip with enough venom to kill a horse, but it has the profoundly welcoming effect of knackering you enough by the end of it to impart a weird feeling of zen like calm. I recommend parents play this to their nippers at night if the little bleeders refuse to bed down. At the very least they might be so emotionally scarred the chances are they won’t dare act up ever again. Just don’t listen to it when you’re doing cardio in the gym. I did and now my kneecaps are on backwards.

Next on the list is this little beauty from Bintus by way of Slabs Of The Tabernacle. This is a stone cold killer of a mix. Breakbeat, acid, house and God knows what else are all squeezed in there. Hell, let’s be honest, any DJ who hits up Juan Atkins, Moody Boyz and Bizzarre Inc in the first few tunes should be put in charge of the lot. Check out the rest of the site too, there are some real gems hiding there.

Whilst I like to laugh at Resident Advisor’s slightly goofy, slightly creepy and slightly frighteningly commercial dominance on a regular basis, you can’t knock their podcast series for bringing some proper underground thunder to masses of Ben Klock fans. They’ve been on a roll this year, But their podcast by Dutch electro genius I-F is the best of the bunch. Unfortunately, they seem to have done their usual trick of archiving it after three hours and I can’t find a link so here is his mix for Dekmantel which is possibly even better. If any of you little monkeys do have a working link for the RA one, please post it in the comments.

I’ve had my doubts about Gunnar Haslam and Tin Man’s colab as Romans and, to be honest, I’m still not overly bothered about the records, but this live set for New York Party Institution The Bunker is pretty damn special in a trippy, acidy and very sweet way. Check out the rest of their podcasts too. Eric Cloutier, Bryan Kasenik, Mike Servito and the rest of their gang are all exceptional DJ’s.

Right, that’s your lot. I’ve got an Ipod to load and water wings to pack.

Leave a Reply

