Special Broadcast: DJ Brainstorm – Puffin’ and Pantin’ Side B

Here’s the second part of the Puffin’ and Pantin’ tape for your listening pleasure. For my money this one is even better than the first. It’s somehow darker and harder, and in its own way it epitomises the ethos of ‘dirty, nasty beats’ which informed so much of what Mystec tried to do, as well as being the thread, the common factor, which has pretty much drawn together all the house music I have loved over the years.

Just as the Club 69 tape – along with a couple of others – I put up a few weeks ago helped to define what I still, now, think of as quality techno, Puffin’ and Pantin’ helped me do the same thing with house music. The main difference between the two is that when I first heard the Club 69 one I already had a lot of techno under my belt so the general effect was a gentle nudging in a certain direction; I might not have known what a lot of the tunes were at the time (and I still don’t, in fact), but I was already very familiar with the music in a wider sense. Much the same is true for other tapes I had. Derrick May’s ‘Live at the Technodrome’, which is of a similar age to this one, contained a lot of music I knew to a greater or lesser extent, but what knocked me for six was the mixing. I don’t think I had ever heard someone do anything like that before. It was a revelation. Even now it takes my breath away.

When I first heard Puffin’ and Pantin’, though, I was pretty new to it all, house music especially. Even though I had heard more than a little acid house by that point, and a lot of techno (particularly from Detroit) what was lacking was some sort of context. Puffin’ and Pantin’ provided this in spades. I can’t claim that there was a road to Damascus style conversion there and then because the truth is it took me a little while to get what was going on. We always tend to put house and techno together, believing them to be two sides of the same coin when, in fact, this isn’t necessarily the case. This was house music of a sort I had never really been exposed to before. It seemed darker than the techno I had been listening to, darker and far more upfront about what it was. It seemed to swirl instead of stomp, and it took great delight in the raw physicality of the music. Eventually something in my head clicked and that was that. Even now, when I hear new house music, Puffin’ and Pantin’ is the yardstick I use to measure my response.

Anyway, here’s the mix. There isn’t a lot more to come from my archives I’m afraid. I have a single volume of Mystec FM to go, but I’ll maybe save that one for the holidays. Here’s Puffin’ and Pantin’ Side B. I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

